Tips & Tricks

Which States Have Won Mega Millions Jackpots?

24 states. Is yours on the list?

In the history of the game, 24 states have won Mega Millions jackpots—some more than others! Is geography in your favor? Here are the luckiest states in America for hitting the Mega Millions jackpot. 

As always, take this list with a grain of salt. South Carolina, for example, has only won 1 Mega Millions jackpot—but it was a pretty historic one. (#MegaBillions forever).

Plus, there are five states that don’t have state lotteries: Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Nevada, and Utah. Mississippi has a brand new state lottery, and began selling Mega Millions tickets in January 2020.

Mega Millions Jackpot Winners By State

Source: Mega Millions
State Jackpots Won 
New York 37
California 32
New Jersey 22
Ohio 20
Michigan 17
Georgia 16
Texas 13
Illinois 11
Maryland 11
Virginia 9
Washington  5
Massachusetts  3
Florida 2
Indiana 2
Missouri 2
North Carolina 2
Pennsylvania 2
Arkansas 1
Idaho 1
Kansas 1
New Hampshire 1
Rhode Island 1
South Carolina 1
Tennessee 1

*Updated July 31, 2020

Home is where the jackpot is. Play Mega Millions on the Jackpocket app for a chance to make your state a winner.

Ready to Play?

Download the Jackpocket app and choose your lucky numbers

Get the App